Fairer the Tree

This one was inspired by a song I heard a long time ago, by Echo’s Children. It was inspired by books in David Weber’s Honor Harrington series, and though I enjoyed the song, what struck me most was the final line. I always thought it’d make one hell of a love poem, so here is my attempt at it.

Young love blossoms quickly but fades away fast.
With petals down falling, so short do they last.
But flowers, when picked, handled gently indeed,
As they drop petals might also drop seed.

And from that small seedling our lust can take root,
When tended and cared for in passion’s pursuit.
And there, in the springtime of lover’s delight,
True love can spring forth in flowers, so bright.

And as the years pass what as seed once began
Will spread in its reaching, forever to span.
To grow up much stronger, a sapling no more;
Instead, there’s a tree where but flowered before.

And the tree, it will blossom and always renew
The passion and love that I first felt for you.
And I hope that when others look on us, they’ll see
That fair was the flower, but fairer the tree.

10 comments

  1. Damn you, Baron! How DO you do it? Poetry AND stories. I christen you ‘The Baron of Words.’

    That was an absolutely gorgeous piece of poetry, especially the last stanza.

    Geez, I hate envy… it’s such an ugly emotion… and I’ve never looked good in green. Damn you, Baron! :D :D

    1. You lie. I am sure you look fabulous in green. ;)

      Thank you my dear! I am very glad you liked it. I will wear my newly granted title with humility and dignity, and only every once in a while thunder drunkenly ordering people about in a show of noble power. ;)

Leave a Reply

