Punctuational Perversity Pervades

I just,
can’t seem,
to keep,
from adding commas to,
my work;
Pausing,
every other word,
like freakin’,
Captain,
Kirk.
Punctuational perversity,
pervades,
within my mind;
I have,
to see,
a comma
at the end of,
every line.
If not,
a pause,
Then a full,
stop, a,
period-ication,
A semi-colon,
dot dot dot,
perhaps a hy-
phenation.
And so,
dear reader,
please,
forgive,
when such,
said things,
invade;
it’s just,
that,
punctuational,
perversity,
pervades.

45 comments

      1. Just a little. This really was a very witty poem. I read it aloud to my husband. Usually I just force him to listen to my own stuff! :D

        Oh… forgot to mention – he thought it was clever, funny piece, too.

  1. She can’t,
    take it,
    much,
    longer,
    Captain!!!!

    I always wondered if he was talking about the Enterprise, or his mistress. Maybe both! I love the way your wrote this, Mark. I can actually hear Kirk. A period-ication? My cunninglinguist tells me that’s not a real word.

    1. Twists and twitches they writhe and wreck
      Unfathomable pauses upon the deck
      Of the vessel that is your written page
      So banish them with shouts and rage
      But then alas you cannot pause
      To hear a thought or the applause
      Of those who hate to see a verse
      That’s rife with commas so perverse!

      1. Haha! Love your sense of humor, Mark! You are such a talented writer. Missed you when you were gone, so happy you’re back!!!

        1. Thank you Monica! You seriously make me blush with your compliments. I strive everyday to be a better writer. Who knows? One day, maybe I’ll make a little money at it! ;) It feels very, very awesome to have been missed. :)

Leave a Reply

