I am going to have to concede defeat…

As much as I hate to, I am going to have to concede defeat. I just can’t manage to find the time on my weekends to do the writing that I want to do. I can manage a short post or two now and then, but I just stay so damned busy during my “days off” that I almost can’t wait to get back to work on Monday where I can have a little down time. Crazy, huh? So I’ve decided to relax my self-imposed rules, and let myself have the weekends “off.” I may and likely will still post from time to time on them, but I’m just not going to beat myself up about missing word counts and the like.

Now, that doesn’t mean I am going to slow down during the week. I still plan to write, lots, because honestly, it keeps me sane. But weekends from here on out are going to be spotty, both reading and writing.

17 comments

        1. Indeed – and though I was still enjoying it, thoroughly, it was causing stress and conflict with all my other obligations, which naturally fall to the weekends to take care of. So I will give myself those days to rest these furious fingers, and perhaps spend the time instead dreaming on stories to write during the week. :)

  1. It is hard to find the time to do everything, Mark, especially if you’re a dad with young children. You have to do what works best for you and your family, my friend, and not feel guilty about being unable to do it all. No one can. :)

    1. It is indeed, my dear. I had a good time with the kids this weekend, lots of playing and hanging out with the little ones on Friday and Saturday, then some time with my teenage boy Saturday night and Sunday all day. I have great kids! :)

  2. Sometimes the writing has to play second fiddle. Do not feel guilty about it – life simply gets in the way and the munchkins – they grow up fast – you already know this – so, you have to take advantage of these moments – before they do not have the time for you:)

  3. I can relate, my friend. I wish I had half the time to do everything I want to do. But it isn’t defeat as long as you are still able to write when you can.

      1. lol, it’s not slacking, it’s facing reality. Speaking of writing… how’s the double rhyming sestina coming along? :-)

Leave a Reply

