It’s All That You Are

Woke up to find it was a dim and dewy morning
Slipped out of bed still in a haze from nightly dreaming
Broken by reality with very little warning
But one bright image still before my eyes was streaming

It was you, all that you are,
All the little things about you
That bring a smile to my heart.
It’s how you look, it’s how you think,
It’s the endless combinations
Of you that brings the light into my day

And in the hazy gray of overcast ambition
That others find so grim it tears their souls apart
I found that happiness became my disposition
Dark as it was, there was a light within my heart

It was you, all that you are,
All the little things about you
That bring a smile to my heart.
It’s how you look, it’s how you think,
It’s the endless combinations
Of you that brings the light into my day

I found the smile there, in waking thoughts remembered
Of passing dreams of you and love that we have shared
And be it sunny June or overcast December
No matter what the mood, my heart will be prepared

Because of you, all that you are,
All the little things about you
That bring a smile to my heart.
It’s how you look, it’s how you think,
It’s the endless combinations
Of you that brings the light into my day

14 comments

  1. Very beautiful. To me this is what true love is. Finding someone who feels the same way is an impossibility but your words make someone like me think there is at least one person in the world that does.

    1. The world is a funny place, dear lady. I spent 14 years in a miserable, abusive relationship. For the longest time, I cursed the thought of true love. But love has a funny way of sneaking up on you when you don’t expect it. For me, it was when my marriage had crumbled, I was kicked out of my home, my children no longer part of my daily routine. And then, it happened, unexpectedly. I met a girl who had been through as much pain as I had. We had things in common, and before you know it…poetry. :)

Leave a Reply

