Turn-a-trope Tuesdays, anyone?

I have to say, I’ve found the flash fiction challenges I’ve found on WordPress to be some of the best inspirations for writing that I’ve had the luck to stumble across. In the interest of giving back a bit to this awesome community, I feel inspired to create a flash fiction challenge of my own.

But first, are you familiar with TVTropes.org? Here’s a brief description of the site, in their own words:

Tropes are devices and conventions that a writer can reasonably rely on as being present in the audience members’ minds and expectations. On the whole, tropes are not clichés. The word clichéd means “stereotyped and trite.” In other words, dull and uninteresting. We are not looking for dull and uninteresting entries. We are here to recognize tropes and play with them, not to make fun of them. “TVTropes .org

So, here is my idea. On Tuesdays, I am going to randomly select a trope, and I am going to post it here on my blog. Your job as a writer will be to take that trope and turn it; that is, write a story with that trope at the center of it, but turn the trope on its head. It doesn’t have to be the exact opposite of the trope, but it does have to challenge what we know are the expectations of it.

There you have it. Let’s set a 1000 word limit, due by the following Tuesday.

Shall we start then? Today’s trope is…. Born Detective!

“Kid Detective who grows up to be a Private Detective, with the help of his/her Badass Family. In short, a parent was a PI (or other profession) and raised their child from a young age to help Mommy/Daddy spy on other people, etc.”

Due by Tuesday, June 10th. Post it in your blog, with a link to it here in comments.

Have fun! :D

9 comments

  1. Love that site. I get way too into it, following all the little bunny trails, and trying to recall examples from movies, and tv. Sounds fun.

    1. I love it, too! Can definitely be an insane time sink, though. ;) However, I couldn’t resist the idea of taking tropes and doing the unexpected with them, or, as they say in troperland, Hanging the Lampshade on them. ;)

Leave a Reply

