Rhyme away, good poets!

This was written on the fly as a response to a blogger’s apology for rhyming a line in her poem. This sentiment has always troubled me, as I feel there is plenty of room in the poetic world for both structured and free verse, and frankly, I find the challenge of writing a rhyming piece to be thrilling and worthwhile. The doesn’t mean I think free verse is without merit – I read and love a lot of it. But, anyway, let my words rhyme and tell my tale…

Since when did it become a crime
To write a verse that dared to rhyme?
Sure, poet-snobs may toot and cough
And lift their noses when they scoff –
But let me ask these rhyming foes:
What of the Shakespeares? Byrons? Poes?
So many greats that worked in rhyme
And structured meter, beating time
With foots, with iambs, carefully wrought
As ‘gainst the wiles of language fought
To tell a tale that pleased to sing
Because they had a rhyming ring.
So if you rhyme, why take offense?
The classics are your best defense.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

