Be not sorry for being you…

Please don’t say sorry for you being you –
You are who you’ve been from the start,
If they can’t accept “to thine own self be true”
Then they do not deserve of your heart.
Please do not try to be what you are not
To meet some other one’s whims;
There only lies madness when you become caught
In trying to be perfect for “him”…
Or her, as it suits you, or even for they
Who expect you to meet what they wish;
You don’t owe them anything, dear, so I say
You should tell them to swim with the fish.
And, strange as it seems, that goes also for me,
Should I ask you to be something too –
Fear not, then, to tell me to jump in the sea
For I’d do just the same, love, to you.

12 comments

  1. :) I bet your smile is as beautiful as your heart. Dark clouds aren’t always bad things. They bring with them rain, which washes away the dirt and dust of life and lets us see clearly again. I look forward to when it does, and when light finds your words again. :)

  2. How true these words are. If only they were as easy and clear to follow all the time. Thank you for writing this beautiful piece of wisdom

    1. I humbly thank you for your kind words! The piece was meant to cheer up a sweet lady who was beating herself up a bit. I am very pleased you enjoyed it!

  3. I love reading your posts, Mark! And this one is SO what I needed today. Thank you so much for sharing your poem!

  4. This is a lovely sentiment. I am always sorry for being me. It is what I know. Always have been and probably always will be. Honestly, I always will be.

Leave a Reply

